Josh Beckett won’t be joining the list of Red Sox players taking home awards this season. The BBWAA voted C.C. Sabathia as the 2007 Cy Young Award winner. Beckett finished a somewhat distant (119-86) second.

Sabathia overshadowed Beckett during the regular season in almost all pitching categories: ERA, strike outs, starts, innings pitched, complete games, and fewer walks. Beckett is the only pitcher to win 20 games in the past two seasons, but this distinction wasn’t enough to tip the votes in his favor.

Had the voting included the post-season, there is no doubt this would have gone differently. Captain Kickass beat Sabathia twice in the ALCS, and went 4-0 with a 1.20 ERA. He struck out 35 and walked two in his four starts. Sabathia was 1-2 in the post-season with an 8.80 ERA.

Back to the Lowell watch…